prayteachlove

A little faith and a lot of love go a long way…

Exhausted Mama

on September 10, 2012

I think it’s time I cleared something up.  There is a misconception about me (and other teachers) floating around out there in the universe and frankly, the world needs to know the truth. Yes, I am a teacher. No, I do not get to “play” for 7 hours a day then go home and live my life while plotting how to spend my “3 month vacation” while rolling around in the mountains of taxpayers’ dollars that I allegedly make for being a “glorified babysitter.”

This past week alone I put in well over 40 hours. In fact, I logged nearly…hold on, let me get my calculator…43.5 hours…and that was for a 4 day week and did not include the 5 hours of work from home that I did on Monday, (it was Labor day…so I labored), or the time I spent yesterday which ended this lovely week. I make thousands of decisions daily. Decisions that can make or break a kid sometimes. I’m not perfect but I do the best I can with what I have at the time when I’m in charge of meeting the diverse and unique needs of the 24 kiddos in my care each day, usually all at the same time. And that takes time. A. Lot. Of. Time.

Which is why I feel like such an exhausted mama right now. Oh yeah, I also feel like when it comes to being a wife & mama, I’m just a big, fat, epic FAIL.

Exhibit A: The place is wrecked and we are in full-force TV mode with Woody, Buzz, and the rest of the Toy Story gang. Mama’s too busy trying to stay awake to care at the moment.

Oh, and yes those are indeed stones on the end table…my son collects stones every time he goes to the mailbox with Big Daddy Byron. I’m just waiting for it to click with Big Daddy B that this is not a good idea. The Gorilla + stones + lil sister Binxy = imminent disaster + unplanned trip to the hospital.  Go ahead, do the math…it’s a balanced equation no matter how you look at it.

Exhibit B: The Gorilla is zoned out, glued to the TV while he snacks on some yogurt. Keep viewing the boob tube lil man, mama’s ready for a nap!

Exhibit C: “Hi, I’m the cute baby…if I just keep sitting here, looking cute, no one will notice that I’m about to swallow my big brother’s train. It’s a good thing my mommy’s too exhausted to stop me!”

We are only 12 days in and I’m already exhausted.  Not only am I exhausted though, I miss my family too. And I feel like the world’s worst mom because I spend more time with and thinking about other people’s kids most days than my own.  It’s like I’ve got nothing left for my babies when I get home because I’ve given it all and then some to everyone else at work.

Thanks for coming to my pity party. It was just one of those weeks.  You know what made me feel better though? Big Daddy Byron and I went and did some random acts of kindness while we ran errands today.  I don’t really want to post what they are because I’m not looking for credit, but one of the things we did we’ve never done before.  The opportunity presented itself out of nowhere though and we took it and hopefully made a difference. Amen for that!

One response to “Exhausted Mama

  1. […] for an hour or so where I promptly fell asleep on the floor in front of everyone. Obviously, as an exhausted mama I am WINNING. HA. One of life’s rarities….date night! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike […]

Leave a Reply

