prayteachlove

A little faith and a lot of love go a long way…

I’ll have my Tuesday with a side of PINTEREST!

on September 19, 2012

AMEN for an awesome student teacher. While she’s busy learning all about what it’s like to be a real, live teacher I’ve had some downtime to implement some super ideas from…cue the music…PINTEREST!

***I should note that my student teacher, or apprentice as Big Daddy Byron insists on referring to her as, is looking mighty exhausted. I took a picture of her plugging away at her desk but I won’t post it since I don’t have her express permission (Sarah, give me permission). I remember being exhausted as a student teacher and thinking I’d never make it as a teacher. Kind of like how I was exhausted right after I had the Gorilla and thought I would die from sleep deprivation but it turns out you just adjust and make it work. I think they call that survival.

So back to Pinterest. These may seem like “duh” types of things that I’m implementing, but the truth is, I lack a gene for creativity and one for common sense. I was probably distracted by something sparkly when God was handing those out and so the things that everyone else easily understand to make sense and be logical are the hardest for me to grasp. For example, let me show you my knew Substitute Information binder.

Look, it’s a sub BINDER…you know how awesome I think BINDERS are! 😉 (https://prayteachlove.wordpress.com/2012/09/08/fake-it-friday/)

There are colorful dividers with labeled tabs…I know those tabs make you wish you could be my substitute already, but if not…check out the next pic…

BOOM! Insert pictures into notes for substitute about your classroom procedures, routines, where to find things, etc. THANK YOU PINTEREST!

I’ll give you a minute to pick yourself up off the floor. I know you have to be completely blown away by my immaculate substitute binder complete with pictures. (Or you’ve fallen to the floor in a fit of laughter since apparently everyone but me has been doing this kind of thing for years. Whatev. I finally caught on and am trying to be one of the cool kids. Like that will ever happen.)

So next up I got the idea to create anchor chart binders. Obviously I love binders. And I think they serve several purposes, the most important being one of the most effective accessories for faking it. So while my exhausted student teacher is slaving away, I spent a few minutes flitting around my room snapping photos of all of our anchor charts.  Then I printed them, snapped them in a binder (complete with dividers of course) so that students can refer back to the anchor charts throughout the year, even after the charts have come down off the walls/ceiling.

Our expectation anchor chart folder

Impressed yet?

Look at those dividers and that anchor chart! You ROCK Pinterest!

That’s all I’ve got for now. Stay tuned though, there are still millions of pins I haven’t seen yet but I’m determined to at least glance at them all. 😉

4 responses to “I’ll have my Tuesday with a side of PINTEREST!

  1. I just stumbled across your blog and thought I would stop and say hi! I’m a teacher too and love some of your Pinterest-inspired ideas – I too have a long list of Pinterest-projects I am desperate to try but just never seem to find the time to get to. Students are wonderful!!

    Jill x

  2. Hi Jill! Thank you for your comment. I am usually never this productive with Pinterest projects, but I’m hoping the streak continues, LOL! 🙂

  3. I don’t know you say you’re not crafty, but I think really deep down inside you are. Your Pinterest project look great!

Leave a Reply

