prayteachlove

A little faith and a lot of love go a long way…

Fake it Friday!

on September 29, 2012

Well, well, well…we meet again. It’s been a bit of a….hectic week, to say the least. But never fear, Fake It Friday is here.

Brought to you by the largest can I’ve ever seen…a 1 pt 8 oz Heineken can!
*Heineken does not necessarily support or endorse the opinions expressed in this blog. No one does really.

 

As I participated in a grade level meeting this week, it occurred to me that one of the best ways to fake it is to use big words. Actually, the key is to use them correctly or at least say them with enough confidence that everyone who hears you thinks you know what you’re talking about. Thankfully I’m a nerd who loves words and vocabulary.  I’m not at the level that one of my dearest friends is, but I can usually hold my own if I have too. The words or phrases don’t necessarily have to be ridiculously long or hard to pronouce, but just words that sound smart.

Just drop a few big ones into a conversation like, “impeccable,” “I concur,” “but I digress,” integrated,” “imperative,” and as I type I just realized that I apparently enjoy words that begin with the letter “i.” But I digress. HA. Gotchya. Thought I was with it, eh? I don’t even know what that means for sure.  In fact, most times I have no idea what I’m saying. But I talk fast and use semi-educated sounding words. Bring on the fake.

The second tip I have for faking it tonight is so obvious but of course it took me 3 weeks to figure out. Are you ready? Use Pinterest. DUH. Make stuff that looks cool and makes you look like you’re really with it but it was never your idea to begin with.

Exhibit A: “App”lying Academic Choice : Choice board to use in the classroom

I have to give credit where credit is due. A very helpful colleague who is open to sharing and lets me steal lots of her great ideas gave me this idea (and graciously supplied most of the supplies as well!).  The whole idea of creating an i-pad lookalike has been on Pinterest a lot though I think inspired many of the teachers that I work with.  With that being said though, I sometimes struggle with turning an idea into reality because 1.) I’m lazy and 2.) I’m a very linear thinker and it’s hard for me to put it all together without having visual models. My colleague made her choice board and allowed me to put mine together using hers so I could look at it while I worked. She probably doesn’t know it, bu just having that visual made a HUGE difference for me in terms of being able to get a finished product. Amen!

Soooooo…use Pinterest, get lots of wonderful, creative ideas, then do them and let everyone think you’re a rock star! For example, someone in the building saw me carrying my choice board as I was finishing up and was super impressed with me. The one thing about faking it that I’m bad at though is that I don’t feel comfortable lying to fake things. So if I get caught faking it, I’ll be the first to tell you. Which is what I did in this particular situation – I laughed and let the person know that I was flattered they thought it was my idea, but I couldn’t take credit, C. (my colleague) had given me the idea and helped me put it together. So much for faking it. Ya win some, ya lose some! 😉

 

2 responses to “Fake it Friday!

  1. […] little faith and a lot of love go a long way… « Fake it Friday! Sep […]

  2. Carol Seifarth says:

    It turned out great Kari! Keep on faking it:)

Leave a Reply

