prayteachlove

A little faith and a lot of love go a long way…

So this is Thanksgiving…

on November 25, 2012

Call in the search parties! I have been found alive and well! (If you were offering a reward you can just make the check out to me…thanks.)

As anyone in education knows, November is the most hectic month of the year. After my last post in early November I had to kick it into high gear in order to be ready for conferences, complete my standards-based report cards (which are way more in depth than a typical report card with a percentage or letter grade), keep up with my normal work load and grad work, and squeeze in some time to be a wife, mom and oh yeah…get ready to host Thanksgiving dinner.

pics4learning

Mmmm, turkey….***this is not a picture of my Thanksgiving dinner though…want to know why? Keep reading…

#1 we live in a small townhouse…that means we do not own a dining room table large enough to fit more than 4 people…and even that is stretching it. So we sit everything out on the stove and table and what little counter space we have.  Then everyone goes at it buffet style and we eat in the living room.  Though we set a table up there, (that makes everyone extra squished but we try), most people just chill out wherever and eat and that is totally fine with us.  We are flexible like that.

#2 I didn’t even make Thanksgiving dinner.  Oh I hosted.  And I worked real hard tearing open packages.  But I sure didn’t cook.  Look, I’m a Capricorn which means I’m nothing if not practical.  Not only do I live in a small townhouse, I have a husband, 2 year old and a 1 year old, an 85 pound dog, and a job that requires that I basically live at work for the 3 weeks leading up to the holiday.  I refuse to add to that stress by cooking a 10 course meal. So I happily ordered my holiday meal (pies and all) online from a local grocery store that does catering, promptly picked it up with my son at 8:30 am on Thanksgving morning and by noon we had a beautiful meal set out and all I had to do was sip my wine and throw packages in the oven to heat up while enjoying my family and friends. Sounds like the perfect way to show my gratitude for being finished with 3 weeks of no sleep and constant work.  Also sounds like one of the ultimate ways to Fake It. SCORE.

Oh and I also didn’t use the nice china that needs to be handwashed. Hell no I didn’t. I spent $6 at Wal-Mart to buy 12 plastic tumblers and 12 plastic plates in fall colors that are sturdier than paper plates/cups but nothing fancy (obviously for $6).  Then I splurged and bought two packs of plastic forks, knives, and spoons. Happy Thanksgiving from the classiest broad around.

Next, I will conquer Christmas…

pics4learning

I’m coming for you next Christmas!

Leave a Reply

