prayteachlove

A little faith and a lot of love go a long way…

A little birthday kindness goes a long way

on November 29, 2012

Break out your prettiest party dress and finest flask because this girl’s got a birthday coming up.  It’s not just any birthday either. I’m gonna be the big 3-0!

I have had lots of thoughts about how to celebrate the upcoming milestone in my life…trip to Vegas, relive my 21st birthday, weekend in the Poconos, day at the spa, dinner with family and friends…and though most of those sound like fun, (not reliving my 21st…I’m too old for that and if I can stay up past 9 pm on my birthday this year it’ll be a miracle), I have decided I’m going to go the classiest route of all…because at 30, if nothing else, I should at least be headed towards demonstrating some type of class in my life. I feel like I’m almost there anyway…I mean, I already make sure my family and I use the expensive fancy toilet paper, (nothing but the best for our classy asses), so the next step is a birthday of kindness.

I’ll have a side of birthday cake with my kindness. I can’t turn down food.

 

I was inspired by something I found on Pinterest – SURPRISE.  A pin led me to learn more about The Birthday Project.  How cool to give back on your special day?!?  So I have been plotting ever since to make sure that my 3oth is full of kindness because at this point, though I might not be old enough to be considered wise quite yet, I at least know enough about life to recognize that spreading kindness in a world that can often seem anything but kind is more important than a day at the spa, a vacation, or a good bottle of wine. (Let’s be real though…I won’t turn those down if ya’ll want to chip in and send me to a warm island somewhere for a few days!) 😉

So here’s the plan…

1.)  For the 30 days before my 30th birthday I will perform 30 acts of kindness.

2.)  This will run from 12/4/12 – 1/2/13 (the big day!)

3.)  I will do one intentional act of kindness each day for the 30 days before my 30th birthday.

4.)  I will document these intentional acts of kindness through this blog (if not daily then every few days I’ll give an update of what’s been going on).

5.)  I will encourage anyone who wants to join me in celebrating my exit out of my 20’s and into my 30’s to do so by performing their own intentional acts of kindness and then letting me know about them.

I hope you’ll join me!

“It’s nice to be important, but it’s more important to be nice.”  ~Author Unknown

2 responses to “A little birthday kindness goes a long way

  1. Jill says:

    I have read about this – absolutely wonderful! Good on you for being so thoughtful, kind and generous in celebration of your birthday!
    (Oh, and happy birthday! xx)

  2. […] A little birthday kindness goes a long way Dec […]

Leave a Reply

