prayteachlove

A little faith and a lot of love go a long way…

You know you gave up as a parent when…

on July 25, 2013

The other day I stopped to pick up a few groceries. As I waited in line, I noticed the lady in front of me place a box of those frozen peanut butter and jelly crustless sandwiches on the check out belt.  You know the ones I’m talking about…

As she piled her other groceries around that purple box, I smiled to myself. She had given up. I’ve been there. Haven’t we all? I mean, she was paying over $2.00 for 4 small crustless peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I am not judging her by any means. If we were able to allot more money to our budgeted “food money” then I’d probably stock up on those babies. I get it. I’ve given up too. Thankfully my kids are still unable to tell you exactly how many nights they’ve eaten frozen waffles (yes, I toasted them…slightly…) and pretzels for dinner. The Gorilla watches videos on the iPad more than I care to admit right now. (We had to find a way to sleep in past 5:30 am!) And Binxy may or may not be learning to count…thanks to Sesame Street and Sesame Street alone. (*gasp* But she’s a TEACHER! – you) (Oh calm down…I’m a human mother too! – me)

How have you given up as a parent?

6 responses to “You know you gave up as a parent when…

  1. […] You know you gave up as a parent when… Jul […]

  2. It does seem like the lazy way out – at least make the sandwiches. Like you say, we have all been there. Picky eaters in particular can be challenging.

  3. Angela Garland says:

    Love reading your posts, Kari. There are many times I laughed out loud…I have to give you a 4 in the area of style!

Leave a Reply

