prayteachlove

A little faith and a lot of love go a long way…

I’m a winner with a death wish.

on August 1, 2013

So, it turns out I apparently have a death wish. Ok, ok…not quite. However, I believe the phrase, “glutton for punishment” applies to me now. So remember how I went ahead and decided to become an Olympian runner? I ran (and I use the term “ran” loosely) a 5K back in the beginning of June. Apparently insanity confidence is a side effect of running and I decided I could totally complete a Spartan Race. In fact, when my buddy over at Pink Runner decided to offer a giveaway for a free race, I was filled with insanity excitement and was the first to comment and enter the drawing for the race on her blog. Turns out…I won!

First, I was super excited that I won. I mean, everyone wants to be a winner, right? Then, I was overwhelmed by intense fear. I’m no athlete! What was I thinking?! Finally the intensity of the fear subsided (it’s still there…just not quite as intense) and I’m kind of looking forward to it. I mean, it’s forcing me to set some goals to train for it. (Note:  By “train for it” I mean “come up with a plan to survive.”)

One thing I know for sure…I need some support! So first and foremost, I know I’ll be blogging about this adventure and hopefully you’ll be encouraging me along the way.  Secondly, I’m hoping (praying, begging…) that there are a least a couple of you out there who want to carry my body across the finish line run beside me and cross the finish line with me to show your support. Pretty please? With a cherry on top? Just think about it…you have some time…I’m thinking I’m going to do the July 12th, 2014 race in Palmerton, PA. We could even start budgeting now and make a weekend of it…celebrate our survival accomplishment! Won’t that be FUN!?!

In any case, be prepared for some updates of how this clumsy diva attempts to bring out her inner SPARTAN. ROAR!!! (Did that sound Spartan-y? Ah well…baby steps.)

4 responses to “I’m a winner with a death wish.

  1. […] I’m a winner with a death wish. Aug […]

  2. Pink Runner says:

    Yay yay yay!!!!!!!! 🙂

  3. I wish you well! All I can say is better you than me. 🙂

  4. I thought the same thing as Amy! But you have a year to train, right? When you put your mind to something, you accomplish it, so it might be great to have goals. 🙂

Leave a Reply

