prayteachlove

A little faith and a lot of love go a long way…

Teaching lessons at Walmart

on August 3, 2013

So I’m old and everyone, including my gyno, knows it. Most of the time I don’t have a problem with it, however I felt my age during an…”incident” this week.

It was an exhausting week.  As a new Math Coach I was able to participate in our district’s process for writing math curriculum. It turned out to be much more intense mentally than I had anticipated. Considering this was my first time writing curriculum, that’s no surprise since I didn’t know what to expect in the first place. After our second day of writing, I went home for a couple of hours but had to leave for an evening meeting since I’ve recently become an Thirty-One independent sales consultant. I began my weary trek back home around 9 pm when I remembered I needed to stop for spray paint.

I figured I would just make a quick stop at my local Wal-Mart, pick up what I need and be on my way. I won’t even go into how I got “lost” in the school supply aisles…but somehow that constantly happens at this time of year…which is why I ended up finally checking out at nearly 10 pm.

I. LOVE. school supplies.

I. LOVE. school supplies.

There I was at 10 pm after an exhausting day in the check out line at Wal-Mart. I was in my summer mommy clothes, glasses instead of contacts, hair tangled and starting to look greasy…basically I was rocking my summer hobo look and probably should have been nominated for one of those “Women of Wal-Mart” calendars. You’re welcome for that image.

A teenage boy was the unfortunate cashier charged with ringing up my items. As he scanned my 4 spray paint bottles a series of beeps sounded.  He smiled and explained that the beeps sound to alert him to make sure the person purchasing spray paint is 18 or older. I half jokingly replied, “Oh, I’m nowhere near 18 anymore.” He promptly replied, “Oh, yes, I can tell.”

SERIOUSLY!? I couldn’t let that one go. I used my mom voice, looked right at him and said, “Honey, the appropriate response is, ‘Ma’m you don’t look a day over 18. May I please see your ID?” I could tell he was super flustered as he mumbled and his face turned beet red. As he handed me my bags he said, “Actually, you look like you’re 21.” I thanked him, took my purchases, and went on my way. I think he learned a valuable lesson about women that night. 😉

2 responses to “Teaching lessons at Walmart

  1. […] Teaching lessons at Walmart Aug […]

  2. Oh my goodness! This is funny- “Women of Walmart calendar! That made me laugh! 🙂 It is sad when you stop getting carded, isn’t it? 😦 I wrote LA curriculum my first year or second year. I didn’t do it again after that! It is absolutely exhausting!

Leave a Reply

